I finished four days of lesson plans and activities (minus one).  It only took about forty hours.  I also spent a little bit (of a lot) of time downloading more center-type activities.

But I did accomplish some things.  And I made dinner.  That’s enough on its own.

Here is another freebie, a traffic light for behavior management.  This is, of course, not a new concept, but I wanted one that my students could use to self-monitor, and it had to be simple but effective.  Here’s to hoping that it is effective!

traffic light beh prev

Free on TPT

4 thoughts on “

  1. I highly recommd for you: the NDD book. Read it so that you can have some things backed with evidence to tell parents if they ask for advice for how to help their kids behave in your class. The NDD book is about Nutrition Deficit Disorder, which is not an official disorder, but which the author thinks may be the cause of all the other “DD’s.” It is written by Dr. Sears, M.D. He does not only mention nutrition, but also sleep, and says that junk eating leads to junk sleep which leads to junk behavior the next day.

    I have also found a connection to red 40 and other dyes. You may wish to ask parents for valentine’s day to only bring cookies with white frosting, or with a natural dye like raspberry or beet juice. They can bring pink napkins, too, to make it look cool! Valentine’s day issues were huge with my son before I discovered the red 40 connection.

    In short, I do not think your very cute graphic will help, but I wanted to give you something that would hopefully be a real help to you.

    Like

  2. Oh, sorry. Another addition. Some kids need excercise more than others. My son could not do math unless he was moving a lot. One teacher I read about somewhere allowed one student he knew had an issue, to bounce on a big ball instead of sit in a chair, and let him get up and go do errands in the hall a lot. It helped immensely with this child. Some kids have just got to move! Maybe they are meant to be athletes. Who knows?

    Like

    • I have heard some parents say that eliminating certain foods and/or dyes has helped ease their children’s behavior issues, but others notice no discernible effect on their children.

      The chart is to be used in conjunction with many, many other behavior supports, including movement. I completely agree that it’s important for students to move around! We have quite a few students who use exercise balls instead of chairs, and it works nicely for them. I’m lucky that everyone I work with is very attuned to the variety of needs the students have!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

