I always heard being a first year teacher was incredibly stressful.  I didn’t realize how early the stress would start!  I have back to school anxiety, back to school night anxiety (it’s not for another two and a half weeks), and getting everything done anxiety.  My nerves are already shot, and I haven’t even begun teaching yet!  I can’t sleep, and if I do, I wake up constantly with more ideas of things to make or things to do.  I’m hoping that this will improve once the year starts.  For some reason, I’m not so sure about that!

Everything I need for the first week is complete, but I still have so many things to cut and materials to prepare.  I think it’s one of those things where you will never feel completely prepared.  That’s what all the veteran teachers are assuring me.  Actually, that’s both reassuring and terrifying!

It’s not just for my own sanity, but mostly for the students.  I want to do everything I can for them!

It’s also probably a problem that I want to make everything myself.  It might be different if my class dynamics were different, but I have students who are on a pre-K level on up to third grade, so there are vast differences, and I want to make sure everyone’s needs are met.

I just posted a free worksheet for your students to write their goals and how they will achieve them.  I’m going to use them on the second day and have them on the students’ desks on back to school night.

Anyway, before I go on forever, here’s a link to the freebie!

scs student goals preview

Free on TPT

Happy Labor Day weekend!

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “

  1. Very good post and I will try to come back and get the freebie. It is very cute. I am a homeschool mom and this will be my 5th full academic year. My nerves are almost always “shot” and I absolutely need a break when my husband gets home. I feel the same way, so it was nice to read your powt and not feel so alone. I also want the best for my kids. I have 6 different age and grade levels and 6 students. It is as much a challenge, just in a different way. I fet paid in hugs and kisses and that is different, too, but we are much the same.

    Today is back to school after labor day. Whew! I can do this. You can do this! Go, girl!

    Like

  2. Wow, six children on six different age and grade levels is a lot! I can only imagine how badly you need that break when your husband gets home!

    It is so stressful when you think of how much the children rely on you and how you want to do everything you can to help them. I agree, though, the rewards make it worth it. The smiles on my students’ faces are the best, and every step forward is such a joy.

    I hope your first day went well!

    Like

Leave a Reply

